National League South Opponents Confirmed

Late Saturday evening, the FA confirmed the allocation of non-league clubs from Steps 1 to 4.

Five teams left the league with Champions Maidenhead United being joined by Playoff winners Ebbsfleet United in the top-tier of non-league football. Margate, Bishops Stortford and Gosport Borough have all left the National League South following their relegation.

Three sides have been promoted into our league. Ryman Premier League winners Havant & Waterlooville and Southern Premier League champions Chippenham Town were promoted automatically and they were joined by our fellow Sussex side Bognor Regis Town who were promoted after defeating Dulwich Hamlet in the Ryman Premier League Playoff Final.

Only one Southern side was relegated from the National League and that was Braintree Town, who finished 22nd with 48 points. They were relegated along with Southport, North Ferriby United and York City.

With only four teams replacing the five who left our league, it meant a side had to be transferred from the National League North and the FA have deemed Gloucester City AFC to be the most “Southern” club in the league. Gloucester, known as The Tigers, are currently playing their games away from the city after major floods in Summer 2007 left their Meadow Park home uninhabitable. The Tigers finished the 16/17 season 10th in the National League North. After spending 7 seasons at Whaddon Road, home of Cheltenham Town, they will play at Evesham United FC in the 17/18 season.

The full team list for the 17/18 National League South season is below –

Bath City

Bognor Regis Town (Ryman Premier League Playoff Winners)

Braintree Town (Relegated from National League)

Chelmsford City

Chippenham Town (Southern Premier League Winners)

Concord Rangers


East Thurrock United

Eastbourne Borough

Gloucester City AFC (Transferred from National League North)

Hampton & Richmond Borough

Havant & Waterlooville (Ryman Premier League Winners)

Hemel Hempstead Town

Hungerford Town

Oxford City

Poole Town

St Albans City

Truro City


Welling United



The full list of Step 1-5 allocations can be found here –